things of little relevance


Brief Encounter
December 31, 2008, 2:42 am
Filed under: Uncategorized


“I’ve fallen in love! I’m an ordinary woman—I didn’t think such violent things could happen to ordinary people.”

This is the kind of love affair that I aspire to. There’s something idllyic and dignified about the unconsummated love affair between Laura and Alec. Physical gratification is pretty easy to come by with lower standards, and sometimes very necessary, but an emotional connection is just so much better!

As much as I love movies (okay fine, hours upon hours of House) with wine and cookies, this loafing around is nearing its end. I may revert to the system I used in the spring, in which I assigned myself a list of tasks to accomplish before bedtime. Essentially, my life skills have degenerated, so I am more or less forced to adapt study habits to living. I also am more excited to write things down in my new moleskine than to actually do them but allow me the excitment before it wears off.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I don’t know. Such a love affair may seem idyllic, and it does possess a certain nostalgic dignity, but it also turns you into a paranoid, neurotic mess and makes you miserable in the broadest sense of the word.

Comment by Carla




Leave a Reply

