things of little relevance


“different”
March 17, 2009, 1:13 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

After reading I am a… cabbie / JPMorgan analyst, normal responses range from “one is reminded that there are places to live that are not new york,” “yeah people are strange,” and “he got out of finance in time.” Compare those with my first reaction: “WHY WOULD YOU EVER DROP OUT OF A MEDIEVAL HISTORY PHD PROGRAM AT YALE?”

This reminds me of last week, when I unintentionally revealed that I read The Chronicle of Higher Education to two different professors. The first retorted, “Lucy, I’m a professor and I don’t even read the Chronicle. You are a übergeek.” Caveat: he is in a rock band. The second just looked at me wryly and chuckled. No caveat.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

