things of little relevance


epigraph for my heart
April 22, 2009, 12:22 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

So I have yet to begin any of my papers, but I already have epigraphs for two of them!

“It is not in Montaigne, but in myself that I find everything that I see there.”
–Pascal, Pensées

“The greatest and most important difficulty in human knowledge seems to lie in the branch of knowledge which deals with the upbringing and education of children.”
–Montaigne, “Of the education of children”

(I am obnoxious, I know.)

Now, my objective:

“And can we compare the lonely work of the reader who interprets the signs and textual constructions into something that carries meaning to a face-to-face contact, where one can read more reliable knowledge from the friend’s eyes than from his words? Is writing not something that is doomed to loneliness and artificiality, and the textuality of the essay, thus, something opposite to friendship in general?”
–Kuisma Korhonen, Textual Friendship : The Essay as Impossible Encounter From Plato and Montaigne to Levinas and Derrida

(“This” will be pretty boring for the next month or so. Boring may or may not include late-night rants/overshare that will only be up for 5 or 6 hours.)

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I find the ideas suggested by the quotes in this post fascinating. I’m intrigued to hear more about these papers. Not only what they say but how you get from today to next month.

Comment by R. A. Montalvo Jr.

GL on your papers. We still need that coffee date.

Comment by diana




Leave a Reply

