things of little relevance


Butler was bearable at 2 a.m. on a Thursday night
April 24, 2009, 2:34 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

My friend Anna likes to talk to strangers, usually those of the Eastern European or cuffed APC’s variety (very rarely is there intersection), and I often end up being introduced via proximity to Anna. Needless to say, this often results in awkward situations for me because her acquaintances more than often turn out to be Eastern European creeps or bougie hipsters, who I’m forced to greet even when she’s not there.

Tonight marked an exception to Anna’s social proclivity. She introduced me to a history grad student who after hearing about my love for Montaigne told me about her friend who used to study intellectual history but is now a musician, Thomas Kivi. His myspace lists his influences as “Michel de Montaigne, Bob Dylan, Ludwig Wittgenstein, Augustine of Hippo, Disiderius Erasmus, Rene Descartes, Blaise Pascal, Townes van Zandt , Tom Waits, Frank Zappa, Hank Williams, Charles Darwin…”

!!!!!!!! (minus all the music influences excepting Tom Waits, also not applicable to Darwin)

Now I wish I hadn’t deleted my myspace.

Surprisingly (or maybe anachronistically?), I’ve been reading the best literary criticism in my 18th Century Comparative Novel class. Mieke Bals’ narratological approach to Ken Aptekar’s I’m Six Years Old and Hiding behind My Hands is one of the most ingenuious things I’ve read of late.

Suggested weekend reading from p. 66 to 75, and if you have time, start from p. 61.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

