things of little relevance


religion
May 4, 2009, 9:39 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

“It’s rather like saying that thanks to the electric toaster we can forget about Chekhov.”

A lot of philosophers/writers turn to religion in their old age, just like Asian girls are the “last stop” in Middlesex. I hope to have a conversion moment soon. I think some faith would do me good.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Faith is good, even if it’s just faith in oneself. The problem with the Eagleton (and I would suppose Fish) perspective is the notion that lack of faith (not just atheism but rejection of religion) is somehow useless. I believe many find it quite useful and I leave it to them to enjoy their lives. I for one have a certain amount of faith even as I reject most of the religion of my upbringing (Catholicism). Faith simply is. Religion on the other hand has many minuses that undermine its pluses. Too bad intellectuals play these deficiencies down when they talk about how wonderful religion is compared to atheism.

Comment by R. A. Montalvo Jr.




Leave a Reply

