things of little relevance


why i am a ruined woman
September 16, 2009, 1:08 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I have been completely spoiled by men, companions and friends, who cook for me.

In London, I asked a new friend to make me dinner, when he admitted he couldn’t really cook, I threw a slight fit (“WHAT DO YOU MEAN YOU CAN’T COOK? YOU’RE A GROWN MAN STILL EATING PASTA WITH CANNED SAUCE??!!!!). He, a rational being unlike yours truly, pointed out that most grown men used canned sauce. Thankfully I am back in New York, where my male friends make a feast of pasta and lentils while I lounge on their couch, daintily, of course (“You said on the phone you and Lucy were cooking…”).

But really, as an Asian woman in this racist and misogynistic America, haven’t I suffered enough? In the words of Elizabeth Nunez, slightly out of context, “AMERICA HAS A MAJOR PROBLEM!”

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

you still owe me a Lucy-cooked-dinner. Better brush up on those skills!

Comment by littleperegrination




Leave a Reply

