things of little relevance


cyronics
January 22, 2010, 10:38 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

In this week’s New Yorker, Jill Lepore explores the cryonics movement. (I’d be happy to give away my copy if anyone finds the article interesting.) Robert Ettinger is an absurd character. He only has two master’s degrees, in physics and math, but he deems himself a scientist because he has “a scientific attitude.” I kid you not.

I especially liked M.I.T. professor Marvin Minsky’s take on cryonics. He plays on Pascal’s Wager with his chart:

Cryonics: Sign up vs. Do nothing

It Works: Live vs. Die

It Doesn’t Work: 

When I die, I want to be skinned and made into a cute little leather jacket for my  granddaughter. That way, when someone compliments her on her jacket she can say, “Oh I’m wearing my grandmother.” Fashion, like a diamond (a lot of people opt for being a ring after death, I want something less…conventional), is forever.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I have often said that a Moshi-fur collar or hat would be the best form of remembrance (and so soft!).

Comment by littleperegrination




Leave a Reply

